Trinity College Library
In 1592, by way of a royal charter, the Trinity College Dublin was formed in an effort to educate professionals, mostly clergymen. The trend throughout much of Western Europe at the time was away from conquering and on to civilization. Royal families believed that territories with sufficient educational resources would appear wealthy and superior to surrounding countries.
Now considered part of the University of Dublin group, many of the buildings from the Trinity College Dublin still stand today. The library rivals those found in Oxford and Cambridge, and offers an innovative place for students to study for their undergraduate exams and graduate level entrance exams. The library is open to the public most days, but restricts visiting hours for non-student visitors during periods of final exam preparation.
Book Of Kells
The Book of Kells Exhibition is a must-see on the itinerary of all visitors to Dublin. Located in the heart of Dublin City, a walk through the cobbled stones of Trinity College Dublin will bring visitors back to the 18th century, when the magnificent Old Library building was constructed and which displays the Book of Kells.
Family: € 22*
School Group: €8 per student
Mon – Sat (May - Sept) - 08:30 – 17:00
Sun (May - Sept) - 09:30 – 17:00
Mon – Sat (Oct - April) - 09:30 – 17:00
Sun (Oct - April) - 12:00 – 16:30
*Last admission 30 minutes prior to closing